This is an old revision of the document!
Flat-Bed Pen Plotter - Roland DPX-3300
- A1 size bed.
- 8 pens.
- Serial (RS-232) and parallel interfaces with USB converter.
- Made in about 1987.
- Electrostatic paper hold-down.
- Good pens for it are “Staedtler 323 Triplus Colour Fibre” and “Pilot V-Ball” (0.5 or 0.7) but they need adapters. There should be some adaptors in a box on the plotter.
Drivers
The serial→USB converter is based on an FTDI chip. Depending on your system, you might need a driver for this, which can be downloaded from https://ftdichip.com/drivers/vcp-drivers/. Installation instructions can be found at https://ftdichip.com/document/installation-guides/. The following is a quick version based on our testing.
Windows
Once you connect the USB cable, Windows should automatically install the drivers, provided you have internet.
To confirm this, you can open Device Manager (search for it in the Start menu). You should see a “USB Serial Controller” under “Universal Serial Bus controllers”, and a “USB Serial Port (COM3)” under “Ports (COM & LPT)”. You might see a different COM number, such as COM5. You can also find the COM number by opening the command prompt and typing mode. Take note of the number.
The PC near the plotter should normally have it connected at COM3.
If for some reason the device does not show up in Device Manager, try installing the drivers for your Windows and architecture from the above link.
Linux
Included in the kernel on most distros, tested on Ubuntu 22.
Upon connecting, you should be able to find the device by running the following on your terminal:
ls /dev | grep ttyUSB
Normally it would show up as ttyUSB0 (unless you have other devices attached). To confirm, you can unplug the device, run the command, plug it back in, and run the command again. A new device that popped up would be it.
Alternatively, you can also run any of the following commands to find out more about the aliases or the device itself:
ls /dev/serial/by-id ls /dev/serial/by-path dmesg | grep FTDI
If you want to use the plotter with Inkscape, you will also need to install the pyserial Python package. We installed this by running:
sudo apt install python3-serial
You might be able to install it via other package managers (either system-wide, with pip install —-user, with uv, or other means, untested).
When exporting via Inkscape, you might encounter an error from pyserial being unable to open or write to the device. This might be fixed by adding your Linux user to the dialout and/or tty groups so that you can send data to the device without root. We have not tested it, but a quick workaround by running inkscape with sudo worked (although please do not do this - update if you find a fix).
macOS
Download the driver from https://ftdichip.com/drivers/vcp-drivers/.
We tested it on MacBook Pro M1 Pro 2021 and MacBook Air M3, so we downloaded the .dmg file for ARM (though both links seem to just be a zipped .app). Unzip it and put the .app file into the Applications folder, then open it and click Install. You might have to accept some security popups, and it might ask you to go to Settings > Login Items & Extensions > Background App Activity, and enable the driver in there.
Once installed, connect the device and run the following command in the Terminal:
ls /dev | grep cu
You should see the device as something like /dev/cu.usbserial-5 and/or the chip name such as /dev/cu.usbserial-XXXXX. Either one should work fine. It might also show up with the tty. prefix, so you can find it with:
ls /dev | grep tty
Accessing from Inkscape
You can send images to the plotter from Inkscape.
First, make sure everything you want to plot is converted to a path by highlighting each thing in turn and selecting “Path > Object to path”. This should work with most vector images and text.
With any raster images, you'll need to process them into a vector before plotting.
Text will vectorise into an inner and outer outline, instead of a simple centreline. “Centerline” or “plotter” fonts are available via Extensions → Text → Hershey Text You can make your own custom font for Hershey Text with this extension - please note this involves hours of faff!
SAVE YOUR WORK. The plotter extension seems quite crash-y, so make sure to save your work before trying to plot it.
Connect your computer to the plotter if not already.
Find out the serial port of the plotter. This is the COM number on Windows (e.g. COM3) or the device path (e.g. /dev/ttyUSB0 or /dev/cu.usbserial-5) on Linux and macOS.
In Inkscape, go to Extensions > Export > Plot
Enter the settings as in this image:
Note particularly that Serial Flow Control MUST be hardware. Without this, you may get partial plots, but you'll get errors in them.
Hit apply to start. It may take a little time (up to a minute or two) for it to start plotting.
Locating the plot
The origin point is in the center of the plotter. This is marked by arrows drawn on masking tape. By default, Inkscape will locate the bottom left-hand corner of your plot at the origin (that is, the bottom left-hand corner of the things to actually plot, not the inkscape document). There is a check box 'center origin' on the Inkscape plot plugin popup. If you check this the center of your plot will be located at the center of the plotter.
Errors
If you stop a plot mid-way (e.g. by killing inkscape and turning off the plotter), the serial adaptor can still hold some of the plot in its buffer, so make sure you turn off the plotter AND unplug the adaptor from your computer to kill power to the serial adaptor to purge this.
The Inkscape plot dialogue will freeze until either the plot completes or the serial adapter is removed from the computer.
3D Printed Pen Holders
There are some 3D printed pen holders in the box. Note that not all of these work and they can be a bit finikey.
For the plotter to pick up a pen, it has to detect a pen in the appropriate slot. There's a small microswitch that the pen had to depress. If it doesn't the plotter will pick the next available pen. You can check the pens are working before starting your plot by using the pen select buttons on the plotter. If you can press the appropriate button and the plotter picks up your pen, then the pen holder is being properly detected and it will work properly when you start your plot.
An adapter for Staedler Triplus pens is available here. It is compatible with normal thickness (1.0 mm) and fineliner (0.3 mm) models but not the mechanical pencil.
Print settings are in the linked model description.
A generic CAD model for the pen holders can be found here on Onshape. You can open the “Configuration Panel” on the right hand side (second icon down, looks like a white cube with a table on its top left) and choose different pen sizes (right click a row and select “switch to” and the model will update). You can then right-click on the model and “export” to get an STL ready for slicing and 3D printing.
If you create a free Onshape account you can “copy” the CAD file so you can create your own branch and edit it to add more configuration sizes/correct errors in the model. Update the link above with your improved version.
Pen Force
The default pen force seems to be tuned to felt-tip pens but there may be some variance if the “Auto” light is on - the plotter has an “Pen Type Discrimination Function” that amends speed and force settings based on pen colours. More detail on page 3-8 of the manual. For Gel pens, you need more force. You can change the force mid-plot by pausing it, holding down Fast / Pen Force and selecting the pen force you want. Pen force can also be set up in the export plot dialogue but this may be ingored..
Accessing from C
Git repository of useful HPGL-generating software, in C for Linux:


